• Announcements

• bluehash

Forum Upgrade   03/11/2017

Hello Everyone, Thanks for being patient while the forums were being fixed and upgraded. Please see details and report issues in this thread. Thanks!
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
HighVoltageLP

msp430g2452 pwm fan controller

6 posts in this topic

So I have my MSP430 launchpad with g2553 and g2452 lying around for year now and finally have a reason to use it.

I'm a total noob (I mean I programmed some assembler and C in college and know some basic stuff about MCUs but never actually put it to use), but my for my first project I've picked a tough one. That way I'll be challenged and won't get bored.

So I've just bought a motherboard that only has 2 fan connectors on it, but I need at least 4 of those, so I decided to make a fan controller. I could just use some 7805s but what's the fun in that? The idea is to use the inferior msp430g2452  controller from the launchpad to generate 4 pwm channels to control 4 fans by changing the duty cycle with potentiometers.

From what I've found on the internet, you can only have as many PWM channels as Capture/Compare Registers on a timer, but the first one will always be used for frequency and have 50% duty cycle. 2452 has only one timer with 3 CCRs, so I could only use 2 PWM channels. With g2553 in a 20 pin package that number is 3 and for SMD package you could have 4 PWM channels.

But from what I understand from page 6 in tidu761 design guide, you could have as many software PWM channels as you have GPIO pins available. They can all be the same frequency after all, I only need to change the duty cycle.

So far as I keep researching design guides and datasheets I have a few questions:

1) What frequency should I use for PWM? I'm guessing it should at least be outside the audible range, so 25 to 30khz should be fine, right?