Danial

I2c communication between two MSP432 Boards

11 posts in this topic

Hello,

I am having a problem using the the Wire examples in energia, master_writer and slave_receiver.

I have not modified the code in the examples and just want it to transfer the information across, so that I can work on from there. 

The two boards are connected together with sda to sda and scl to scl, it shares a common ground and both boards have a 5V supply to the 5V pins

However, every time i connect the boards and check the serial monitor on the slave board, all i see is weird unique characters. 

When i press reset button on the slave board, it will repeat and print the same weird character.

post-50096-0-59376700-1488631506_thumb.png

I'm fairly new to i2c communication and would appreciate any help provided here,

Thank you,

Danial.

1) The "weird" display could be a serial comm mismatch between your PC serial port and the serial output from the boards. So, first check that your serial display is set to the same baud rate as the sketch.

2) I2C requires pullup resistors. While some sketches will use the internal resistors available on some msp devices, those internal resistors are often too "weak" - around 30K to work effectively, if at all. Typically, 1K - 10K work well.  Further, I would use the 3.3V supply for your pullups. The msp ports are not 5V tolerant,  as they are natively 3.3V devices.  The 5V pin is coming off of the USB connection.

3) Posting the actual code you are running is always important and useful to help others sort out issues. :)

Regarding I2C pullups - I wish that TI would offer a LP board with pads where I could add an "optional" pair of resistors. Tying-in external resistors is a pain... :(

Hi, thanks for the response.

The baud rate is set up for 9600 and and is also set 9600 on the serial monitor.

The code i am using, is of the examples given by Energia.

Master_Writer

// Wire Master Writer
// by Nicholas Zambetti <http://www.zambetti.com>