curtis63

Is there a standard I2C Library for MSP430G2553 for Code Composer Studio 7

3 posts in this topic

Seems to me that I2C is a fairly commonly used way to communicate between MSP430G2553 and various sensors.  However, I cannot seem to find a standard library that implements it.  There are many home spun implementations and there doesn't seem to be a standard I2C Library.  I'm VERY NEW to the embedded development world, but have been a windows programmer for 20 years.  I'm used to having standard reusable libraries that do the grunt work for me so I don't have to re-invent something that has been done by others 100 times already...

Am I just missing something or are all embedded developers just masochists??  Surely not..  So, does anybody know where I can find a simple I2C library that works with my MSP430G2553 in Code Composer Studio 7?  Any reason why it isn't just built in?  Or is it?

This is a huge paradigm shift for me, so please be patient.

Any help would be appreciated. 

I have not switched to CCS 7 yet, in CCS  6 you can find examples via View > Getting Started > Browse Examples - same in CCS 7?

Since many MSP430 processors have limited resources I prefer to implement the interfaces myself, reusing snippets of code from earlier projects.

@@curtis63

I think you'll find what you're looking for in this zip file:  here

or go to this page http://www.ti.com/lsds/ti/microcontrollers_16-bit_32-bit/msp/tools_software.page - scroll down to "Code Examples for MSP Microcontrollers" and click on Show More to see all the examples